Drogheda (population 40,956) is currently the largest town in the Republic of Ireland. It is on the river Boyne, 7km from the Irish Sea.

Including its surrounding areas, its population goes over 83,000 which is larger than Waterford or Galway. This includes the County Meath towns of Laytown, Bettystown and Mornington. It’s borough council was abolished in the Local Government Reform Act 2014 and is now mostly in Louth but partially in Meath.

Locals were bitterly disappointed when there was no mention of city status for Drogheda in the Ireland 2040 Plan. Watch my video on the Plan for more. Drogheda sought to be the regional capital of the north east, as Sligo will be to the north-west and Athlone to the midlands. However Dundalk, the county town of Louth has a population of just smaller than Drogheda.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: